Committees and Special Projects 

The chapter is constantly working on projects for our members and community. We are always looking for volunteers to help with these efforts. You can find out more about these projects by contacting the committee leaders below. 

Advocacy Committee

The Advocacy Committee keeps informed and participates with legislation and other political campaigns that relate to the profession of landscape architecture. The committee also communicates with national ASLA on federal and state level advocacy efforts that address items such as green infrastructure, transportation, and items related to licensure in our profession.

Contact: Craig Coronato, FASLA
ccoronato@logansimpson.com


Community Alliance Committee

The Community Alliance Committee develops strong relationships with allied groups in the state. Work with groups such as ANA and ALCA on joint events to benefit all members. 

Contact: Todd Briggs &
Roger Socha
todd.briggs@trueformlas.com,
roger.socha@trueformlas.com


Communications Committee

The Communications Committee is involved in the communication and publicity of events for AzASLA. Including website maintenance, generating monthly e-blasts, annual publication of the Mesquite Journal, and Mesquite Journal Blog. 

Contact: Taylor Hawkins
Communications@azasla.org

Awards Gala Committee

The Annual Awards Gala is the Chapter's largest event of the year. Planning begins in the fall, get involved today. 

Contact: Karla Hunt
khunt@j2design.us

 

HALS

Historic American Landscape Survey is a federal program established to document historic landscapes in the U.S. ASLA provides advice on identifying, selecting and documenting historic landscapes. 


Contact:
Gina Chorover
gina.chorover@tucsonaz.gov

Public Awareness Committee

The Public Awareness committee is responsible for developing events and programs relevant to chapter members and the general public. The committee is also in communication with National ASLA to promote public awareness of the profession.


Contact:
Irene Ogata
ireneogata.azasla@cox.net

Central Section Committees

The Central Section has established subcommittees to promote the chapter and its members though various events and outreach. Committees include community involvement, educational outreach, landscape architecture month, emerging professionals, northern AZ alliances, and graphics. Planning for 2013 is underway, contact the chapter if you are interested in participating with any of these committees.

Contact: Valerie Ahyong
valerie.ahyong@smithgroupjjr.com